Kudos on the hearing today, and portfolio submission reminder for UM students

Jeff Kupperman's picture

Kudos to everyone on the hearing today -- you should be proud of yourselves individually and as a caucus. The fact the panelists asked tough questions and made comments from a range of different perspectives is evidence that you tackled important issues without easy solutions, and that the members of the panel were truly taking you seriously. 

If a particular panelist asked a question or made a comment that helped you or made you think, we strongly encourage you to email them and let them know. And if you have a question for any of them or wish to follow up for any reason, please do so as well. The panelists were (in seating order from left to right):

  • Bob Murphy (Director of University Relations and Policy, Michigan Association of State Universities): bmurphy@masu.org
  • Michael Latvis (Director, Government and Community Affairs, UM-Dearborn): latvism@umich.edu
  • Erin Schor (Vice President, Michigan Community College Association): eschor@mcca.org
  • Chad Swan-Badgero (Arts Education Program Manager, Michigan Council for Arts and Cultural Affairs ): badgeroc@michigan.org
  • Rep. Sarah Anthony: SarahAnthony@house.mi.gov
  • Rep. Laurie Pohutsky: LauriePohutsky@house.mi.gov
  • Ellen Zwarensteyn (Executive Director, Michigan Center for Civic Education): ezwarensteyn@gmail.com
  • Karen Gagnon (Policy Advisor, Housing Initiatives Division, Michigan State Housing Development Authority): gagnonk@michigan.gov 
  • Juan Mascorro (graduate student, Michigan State University): Mascorr5@msu.edu
  • Toko Oshio (Assistant Professor, UM-Flint): toshio@umflint.edu
  • Rebecca DeVooght (State Relations Director, UM-Ann Arbor): devooghr@umich.edu

EDUC 362 students, don't forget that your final portfolio is due Friday (April 26) at 11:59pm, submitted through the UM Canvas site for your section. Please give your portfolio extra care and attention -- your insights about public policy in Michigan, your reflection on your own learning, the work that you highlight, and the care you take in putting together the portfolio itself will all have a substantial impact on your final grade. Please also be sure you have submitted a course evaluation. Thanks to you all!